Register of Deeds Office
Register Of Deeds Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to record a deed, lien, mortgage, etc.?
For entering and recording DEEDS, MORTGAGES, LIS PENDENS, CERTIFIED COPIES OF COURT DOCUMENTS, or other instruments:
Effective October 1, 2016, recording fees for all documents recorded in the Register of Deeds office will be $30.00 regardless of the number of pages. The fee of $3. after the first instrument reference remains in effect. Should you have any questions, please visit the Michigan Legislature website at http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?2015-HB-5165.
This fee change is in accordance to Michigan Public Acts 224 through 232 of 2016.
Any document which assigns or discharges more than one instrument, a $3.00 fee shall be added for each additional instrument being assigned or discharged.
*$4.00 of this fee is deposited to the Michigan State Survey and Remonumentation (MSSR) fund. The $4.00 M.S.S.R. Fee is not assessed on Fixture Filings; State and Federal Liens; State Deeds; Plats or Treasurer's Tax Reversion Documents.
I've paid off my mortgage. How can I get a copy of my deed?
When you pay off a mortgage, you should receive a Discharge or Release or Satisfaction of Mortgage. You do not receive a deed at this time because you get your deed when you first purchase the property. If you do not have your deed, then you can get a recorded copy of it at the Register of Deeds; and a recorded copy is just as good as the original. You can come in person, send us a request by mail, or log onto https://uslandrecords.com. Search and copy fees will apply.
How do I get a copy of my deed, mortgage, mortgage discharge, etc?
You can come in person, send us a request by mail, or search online. Search and copy fees will apply.
How do I remove my deceased (husband, wife, father, mother, etc.) from a deed?
A certified copy of the death certificate must be recorded. It can be brought in or mailed to the Register of Deeds. The cost will be $30.00. The survivorship clause on the deed, will determine if an interest needs to be Probated. Legal advise is advised.
How do I add someone to my deed?
You need to pick up a Quit Claim Deed form at any office supply store such as Office Max or Office Depot, or you can get one at the Register of Deeds Offices. You can also access our forms page by clicking HERE. The Quit Claim Deed needs to be completed in black ink or typed, signed and notarized. It is a legal document, so we recommend contacting an attorney or someone who is well versed in real estate matters to provide help in preparing the deed to avoid probate court (if intended). When it is completed, signed and notarized, it can be mailed in or brought in for recording. The cost will be $30.00.
Who is the owner of (street address and city)? Or how do I find out if there are any liens on my property?
All searches are done either in person by coming to the Register of Deeds, by mail ($5.00 search fee per name/address) or by going online. You can get a taxpayer name and address for free by calling the Macomb County Land File Office at 586-469-5313 or the local Assessor's Office in that City or Township.
What are transfer taxes for?
Please call 586-469-5309 for details.
How do I get to your office?
The Macomb County Register of Deeds Office is located in the Clemens Center (32 Market Street in Downtown Mount Clemens). For directions, call 586-469-5175 and select option #4 or CLICK HERE for directions.
How do I get a legal description for property?
Call the Macomb County Land File Office at (586) 469-5313.
How can I get the property taxes for an address?
Call the Macomb County Treasurer's Office at (586) 469-5190 or the local Assessor's Office in that City or Township.
How long before I get my document returned to me?
Based on the recording date, all documents will be returned in approximately 6-8 weeks.
Can I get a payoff amount for a foreclosure?
YES. Effective December 17, 2010 pursuant to MCLA 600.3240, (which changed HB 929 and HB 931 of 2004):
Pursuant to MCLA 600.3240 Sec 3240 (14), The register of deeds of a county having a population of more than 750,000 and less than 1,500,000, at the request of a person entitled to redeem the property under this section, shall determine the amount necessary for redemption. In determining the amount, the register of deeds shall consider only the affidavits recorded under subsections (2) and (4). A county, register of deeds, or employee of a county or register of deeds is not liable for damages proximately caused by an incorrect determination of an amount necessary for redemption under subsection (2).
A Payoff Letter can be requested through the Macomb County Register of Deeds office for a fee of $25.00. The fee must be paid at the time of the request. The request form can be obtained in the office or CLICK HERE to download form. You can mail or return in person to the Macomb County Register of Deeds Office along with $25.00 payable to Macomb County Register of Deeds. The payoff letter will be available after 2 business days from the date of the request.
Redemption funds can be paid to the Macomb Register of Deeds through a certified check or cashier's check by 4:00 p.m. on the last working day of the redemption period. There is a $5.00 fee for the care and custody of the redemption funds (pursuant to law). If you have obtained a payoff figure from the Register of Deeds, that fee is included in the redemption amount. However, the Register of Deeds only accepts the funds received and is not liable for damages proximately caused by an incorrect determination of an amount necessary for redemption. The Macomb County Register of Deeds will only issue a letter citing that we have received funds. The redemption certificate, upon acceptance of the funds from the grantee of the sheriff's deed, is the responsibility of the grantee to draft and record.
Does marital status have to be shown on documents?
The marital status of males must be shown on deeds and mortgages for grantors, pursuant to MCL 565.221
Does the document need to be witnessed and notarized?
Documents executed in the state of Michigan prior to March 4, 2002 must have the signatures and printed names of two witnesses. The document must be notarized, with the notary showing their printed name, county of commission and expiration date. After March 4, 2002, documents do not have to be witnessed, only notarized. See recording requirements.
What documents have to be tax certified?
Warranty deeds, any deeds which includes warrant or covenant clause, and land contracts must be tax certified at the Treasurer's Office to show the property taxes are up to date. There is $5.00 fee for the certification.
Will you record a copy of a death certificate?
Death certificates submitted for recording must be certified copies (embossed seal).
Do you still take the old 'Fixture' forms?
No, pursuant to UCC Article 9, the National Standard Form is required. Visit the Secretary of State's Web site at http://www.michigan.gov/sos. Select "Services for Businesses". This area will provide information on publications and forms for "Article 9". Also, you may call any office supply store in your area.
Do you carry the new 'National' form?
No, we do not. You may call the Secretary of State Uniform Commercial Code Section at 517-322-1144. You can access the 'SOS' Web site at http://www.michigan.gov/sos. Select "Services for Businesses". This area will provide information on publications and forms for "Article 9". Also, you may call any office supply store in your area.
What are the fees to file a UCC 'termination'?
$15.00 -- real estate.
$15.00 -- (financing) if originally recorded at the Macomb County Register of Deeds.
What are the fees to file a new UCC? (land records only)
$15.00 -- complete legal description is required.
The above fees apply to:
Reinstatement of Lapsed Filing
What are the fees for a Jeopardy Tax Assessment?
The fee is $10.00. This document is an "exception" to the rule. It does not require a complete legal description because it does not go through Real Estate.
What is your policy for 'UCC search' requests?
You may mail it in with an initial fee of $12.00 per debtor name using the UCC Search Form. Once the search is completed, we will contact you by phone if additional fees are required. You may call the Secretary of State Uniform Commercial Code Section at 517-322-1144 to get the form mailed to you. You can also access the 'SOS' Web site at http://www.michigan.gov/sos. Select "Services for Businesses". This area will provide information on publications and forms for "Article 9". Also, you may call any office supply store in your area.