Skip to main content
Email Subscription

To sign up for email updates from Macomb County or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your email address. If you would like to subscribe for text alerts please select Text Updates in the drop-down menu.

Clerk/Register Of Deeds
Karen A. Spranger
120 N Main, Mount Clemens, MI 48043
(586) 469-5120

Services

Marriage

Welcome to the Marriage License Information page of the Macomb County Clerk / Register of Deeds website. Below you will find information on how to apply for a Macomb County Marriage License and how to obtain a certified copy of a Macomb County Marriage Certificate.

CLICK HERE for Marriage License "Frequently Asked Questions" (FAQs).

How To Apply For A Macomb County Marriage License

Apply Online


CLICK HERE to apply for a Macomb County marriage license using the Online Marriage Application system.

After using the Online Marriage Application system, you will come to the Macomb County Clerk's office. The clerk will print your application form, you will sign it, and the clerk will notarize your signature. You must bring your driver’s license or state photo identification card. Only one applicant needs to attend (both are welcome to do so), but the person who comes must be a Macomb County resident. There is no charge for the notarization service. CLICK HERE for our current office hours and directions

Please Note: 16 and 17-year-old applicants are required to present a certified birth certificate, and the minor must be accompanied by a custodial parent or guardian who must sign a consent form. The custodial parent, guardian, and minor must present picture identification.

Apply In Person


When applying in person, Macomb County residents must show proper photo identification (driver's license with a Macomb County address). Birth certificates are helpful but not required; however, 16 and 17-year-old applicants are required to present a certified birth certificate, and the minor must be accompanied by a custodial parent or guardian who must sign a consent form. The custodial parent, guardian, and minor must present picture identification. CLICK HERE for directions to the Macomb County Clerk's Office.

If applicants live in two different Michigan counties, the applicant must apply in the county where he or she lives. We will need to see a valid driver's license or state ID to verify the applicant is a Macomb County resident.

If one person lives in Michigan and one out of state, apply at the office of the County Clerk of the Michigan resident.  When both applicants live out of state, application must be made in the county in which the marriage will take place.

Waiting Period


Although you will leave the County Clerk's office with your marriage license, applicants must wait three days from the day of application before the marriage license is valid. This waiting period does not include the application day. In order to waive the three-day waiting period a $10 waiver fee is required in addition to the $20 marriage license fee. The license is valid anywhere in the state for thirty-three (33) days from the date of application.

Where to Get Married?


Even though you apply for your marriage license in the county you live in, you can get married any place in Michigan.

Marriage Officiants


To perform marriage ceremonies a person should be an ordained minister, magistrate (a civil officer with power to administer and enforce law -- Justice of the Peace), mayor of a Michigan city or a judge. Please note that Macomb County no longer has a "Justice of the Peace."

CLICK HERE for a list of local District Courts

CLICK HERE for the related Michigan State Statute

CLICK HERE for State Licensing Requirements

Application Form


  • CLICK HERE to download the Marriage License Application Form.  You may need to upgrade to the latest version of Adobe Reader in order to read this form.  CLICK HERE to upgrade Adobe Reader.

Where To Apply


Fees


  • $20.00 -- application fee for Michigan residents
  • $30.00 -- application fee for non-residents of Michigan
  • Method of payments accepted: cash, check, VISA, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.

cc_logos_0.png

  • Please make checks payable to: "Macomb County Clerk."

Re-Type Fee


  • If the marriage license is prepared and the applicant has made an error with the information provided to this Office, there is a $5.00 re-type fee that must be paid in order to pick up your license.

Making Changes to an Existing License


  • If a mistake was made on a marriage license that is already on file with the Macomb County Clerk's Office, a court case will need to be opened in order to fix the mistake. CLICK HERE for the petition to start that court case.

How To Obtain A Certified Copy Of A Macomb County Marriage Certificate

Macomb County marriage records are not available for viewing, but may be purchased by anyone. Records are available for Macomb County marriages ONLY. Requests can be made in person, by mail, or via online or fax with a credit card.

Request A Copy Online


Request a copy of a Macomb County marriage license safely and securely online using Google Checkout

CLICK HERE to request a copy of a Macomb County marriage license safely and securely online using your credit card or PayPal.

Request A Copy In Person


Visit the Macomb County Clerk's Office in Downtown Mount Clemens.  

Request A Copy By Mail


Write a letter including the required information (see box at right), and enclose a check or money order. Mail to Macomb County Clerk, Attn: Marriage Records, at the linked location.

Michigan Vital Records Office


The State of Michigan Vital Records Office has records of births, deaths, and marriages that occurred in Michigan and were filed with the state as early as 1867, and divorce records as early as 1897. CLICK HERE

Vital Records Request Form


Download Macomb County Vital Records Request Form

CLICK HERE to download the Macomb County Vital Records Request Form and Instructions (PDF)

Required Information


  • Applicant names and the date of marriage.
  • Appropriate certified copy fee.
  • Requests by mail must include a signed and dated letter.

Fees


  • $15.00 -- one certified copy.
  • $5.00 -- additional certified copy of same record.
  • Method of payments accepted: cash, check, VISA, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.

cc_logos_0.png

  • Please make checks payable to: "Macomb County Clerk."