Skip to main content
Email Subscription

To sign up for email updates from Macomb County or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your email address. If you would like to subscribe for text alerts please select Text Updates in the drop-down menu.

Clerk/Register Of Deeds
Fred Miller
120 N Main, Mount Clemens, MI 48043
(586) 469-5120


May 5 , 2010



Click here to visit the Macomb County home page

Coin toss to settle Center Line school board election tie

The Macomb County Clerk / Register of Deeds will flip a half-dollar coin at 1 pm Thursday outside at the gazebo next to Mount Clemens City Hall as part of the process to determine the winner of a tied Center Line school board election. In yesterday’s election, Center Line Public Schools school board candidates Dee Lindeman and Ron Nelson each received 436 votes for a six-year term. The coin flip will determine which candidate draws a slip of paper first from a box that will determine the winner.

In the case of a tie, state law requires the county clerk to place two slips of paper into a box – one slip says “Elected” and the other “Not Elected.” The candidate who draws the slip bearing the word “Elected” wins.

"Every vote matters and just one more either way would have won the election," said the Macomb County Clerk, who also encourages everyone 18 and over to register to vote. The Macomb County Clerk even launched an online voter registration system to show one way online voter registration could be done at

The losing candidate will have the opportunity to request a public recount, in accordance with election law, at a cost of $10 per precinct, which is refunded if the recount changes the election result. There were 12 precincts in yesterday’s Center Line Public Schools election.

Election results are available on the county clerk’s Web site at

The last Macomb County tie vote occurred on August 9, 2008 when Sterling Heights precinct delegate candidates Timothy L. Parker and Mark Valente, Jr. each received 16 votes out of 162 cast in precinct 47. Parker won the toss.

Another tie vote occurred in a Mount Clemens City Commission election in November 2007. Jack Johns and Gary Blash each received 806 votes. Blash won the coin toss, but Johns won the election after a public recount determined he received 807 votes.

Video of the coin toss, including a slow-motion replay, will be available on the county clerk’s Web site shortly after the event


Who: The Macomb County Clerk, Center Line School Board candidates Dee Lindeman, Ron Nelson

What: Coin flip to determine winner of tied Center Line Public Schools election.

Where: Outside at gazebo, the end of Mount Clemens City Hall parking lot,One Crocker Boulevard, Mount Clemens, MI 48043, Clinton River and Macomb County Court Building in background.
(Rain location: if it rains, the coin toss will occur in the Macomb County Court Building Lobby, 40 North Main, Mount Clemens, MI 48043.)

When: Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 1:00 p.m. The event will end by 1:10 pm.

Clerk's Office
40 N. Main Street
Mount Clemens, MI 48043
Fax: 877-443-9505


Michigan: 1-888-99-CLERK
Out of State: 310-575-5035

Register of Deeds
32 Market Street
Mount Clemens, MI 48043
Fax: 586-469-5130