First-Time CPL Application
Review State of Michigan CPL Requirements
Please click the link below to access the Michigan State Police's website for a concise list of Michigan Concealed Pistol License requirements.
Review Training Requirements
Training must be provided within 5 years preceding the date of application and must consist of at least 8 hours of instruction with all of the following conditions met:
(a) The program is certified by this state or a national or state firearms training organization and provides 5 hours of instruction in, but is not limited to providing instruction in, all of the following: (i) The safe storage, use, and handling of a pistol including, but not limited to, safe storage, use, and handling to protect child safety. (ii) Ammunition knowledge, and the fundamentals of pistol shooting. (iii) Pistol shooting positions. (iv) Firearms and the law, including civil liability issues and the use of deadly force. This portion shall be taught by an attorney or an individual trained in the use of deadly force. (v) Avoiding criminal attack and controlling a violent confrontation. (vi) All laws that apply to carrying a concealed pistol in this state.
(b) The program provides at least 3 hours of instruction on a firing range and requires firing at least 30 rounds of ammunition.
(c) The program provides a certificate of completion that states the program complies with the requirements of this section and that the individual successfully completed the course, and that contains the printed name and signature of the course instructor. The certificate of completion shall contain the statement, “This course complies with section 5j of 1927 PA 372.”. For certificates issued on or after December 1, 2015, each certificate shall also contain both of the following, which shall be printed on the face of the certificate or attached in a separate document: (i) The instructor’s name and telephone number. (ii) The name and telephone number of the state agency or a state or national firearms training organization that has certified the individual as an instructor for purposes of this section, his or her instructor certification number, if any, and the expiration date of that certification. 15 ESB 34 (d) The instructor of the course is certified by this state or a state or national firearms training organization to teach the pistol safety training courses described in this section.
Fill Out CPL Application
- CLICK HERE to access online application system.
- CLICK HERE to download the CPL Application (pdf version).
All sections must be completed. DO NOT SIGN APPLICATION UNTIL SUBMITTING TO CLERK (See Step 4 below).
Submit and Sign the Application (In Presence of Clerk)
Please visit the Virtual Clerk's Office for latest information, including how to submit your application. CLICK HERE for more information.
Pay CPL Processing Fee
The Concealed Pistol License application fee for new applicants is $100.
A $15 fingerprinting fee is paid to the Clerk's Office at time of application. Fingerprinting is done at the time of application at the Clerk's Office.
- PAYMENT TYPES ACCEPTED: Cash, Check, Debit or Credit Cards (Visa/Mastercard/Discover)
Review CPL Fingerprinting Requirements
Fingerprinting must be done WITHIN 45 DAYS after the application is submitted at the County Clerk’s Office. If not fingerprinted after 45 days, the application is withdrawn. Fingerprinting is done at the time of application at the Clerk's Office.
Firearms Laws of Michigan Handbook
CLICK HERE to download the "Firearms Laws Of Michigan Handbook" (latest revision October 2015).
Replacement CPL License
You may obtain a replacement CPL License from the Clerk's Office:
- If your CPL License was stolen
- If your CPL License was lost
- If your name has changed
If your CPL license is stolen, report that to your local police department. You may obtain a replacement license from the Clerk's Office for $10. Bring your government-issued picture ID (drivers license, etc) and the fee along with a copy of the police report and a new permit will be re-issued to you.
- CLICK HERE for CPL Replacement Request Form
- CLICK HERE for hours and directions to the Clerk's Office.
CLICK HERE for a listing of three and eight-year disqualifying misdemeanors.
Licensing Law Changes
CLICK HERE for changes on the Michigan State Concealed Weapon Licensing Law
Local Police Departments
CLICK HERE to view a list of local police departments
States That Recognize Michigan CPL's
CLICK HERE to view the Department of Attorney General for a listing of states that recognize the Michigan issued permits.
Peace Officers or Law Enforcement Officers
Current police officers applying for the first time after July 1, 2001, are required to meet the training requirements set forth above under heading, "Training Requirements." If the officer is from a Local Police Department that has been certified by M.C.O.L.E.S. to provide training to its officers for obtaining a CPL, the officer may alternatively present a certificate or letter from the Police Department stating that he/she has successfully completed the training requirement.
For officers applying for a RENEWAL, the officer must certify to the Gun Board that he/she completed three hours review and an hour of fire range prior to submitting application.
The educational requirements are waived for RETIRED Police Officers or RETIRED Law Enforcement officers. (i.e. letter from chief of police showing proof of retiring in good standing from his/her employment or retirement card). Former police officers must complete and show proof of 8-hour training.
Pistol Free Zones
CLICK HERE for Pistol Free Areas
Applicants exempt from Pistol Free Zones:
- (a) An individual licensed under this act who is a retired police officer or retired law enforcement officer. The concealed weapon licensing board may require a letter from the law enforcement agency stating that the retired police officer or law enforcement officer retired in good standing.
- (b) An individual who is licensed under this act and who is employed or contracted by an entity described under subsection (1) to provide security services and is required by his or her employer or the terms of a contract to carry a concealed firearm on the premises of the employing or contracting entity.
- (c) An individual who is licensed as a private investigator or private detective under the professional investigator licensure act, 1965 PA 285, MCL 338.821 to 338.851.
- (d) An individual who is licensed under this act and who is a corrections officer of a county sheriff's department.
- (e) An individual who is licensed under this act and who is a motor carrier officer or capitol security officer of the department of state police.
- (f) An individual who is licensed under this act and who is a member of a sheriff's posse.
- (g) An individual who is licensed under this act and who is an auxiliary officer or reserve officer of a police or sheriff's department.
- (h) An individual who is licensed under this act and who is a parole or probation officer of the department of corrections.
- (i) A state court judge or state court retired judge who is licensed under this act. The concealed weapon licensing board may require a state court retired judge to obtain and carry a letter from the judicial tenure commission stating that the state court retired judge is in good standing as authorized under section 30 of article VI of the state constitution of 1963, and rules promulgated under that section, in order to qualify under this subdivision.
- (j) An individual who is licensed under this act and who is a court officer.
Proof of employment for the above positions is required at the time of application
Renew your CPL by using the Concealed Pistol License renewals system on Michigan State Police website using your PIN (See your renewal letter for PIN Number).